Le séisme en Haiti: A unit for French 4/5AP students

seisme

Well, in a fashion true to myself, I’ve probably bitten off a lot more than I can chew this year! In addition to my normal class schedule of French 2-AP, I’m still working on writing curriculum for our county (we’re on to French 3 this year!). I’ve also signed on to participate in the World Language department’s leadership team as we attempt to move toward a more proficiency-based model, my building’s Continuous Improvement team, and I’m mentoring our newest Spanish teacher. I’ve also been wrestling with some health issues that, after a minor surgical procedure last week, should hopefully be fully resolved (cross your fingers for me).

Life doesn’t show signs of slowing down any time soon, but while I was recovering last week I was inspired by the #langchat topic of cross-curricular collaboration and started planning a new unit for my French 4/AP split. I thought it pertinent to address the hurricane that blew through the Caribbean last week, Hurricane Matthew, causing further problems for the already impoverished nation of Haiti. My plan for this unit is to address the initial disaster that hit Haiti in 2010, the huge earthquake, and how the billions of dollars in humanitarian aid were effectively squandered. The second phase is to examine how access to potable water is a basic human right (à la Carrie Toth) – and that 1 in 10 people worldwide do not currently have access to a safe water source; Haiti is certainly part of that demographic.

I’m hoping to collaborate with my colleagues in science to do a water-testing lab, and to perhaps have one of the science teachers who traveled to Haiti for volunteer work last year come in to talk about his experiences in the country. My cousin is also a pediatrician who has traveled to Haiti on 3 separate occasions with Doctors Without Borders and I’m hoping she might have time to contribute something as well.

Today I’m sharing the introductory part of my unit, which I hope will familiarize my students with the country of Haiti, as well as how the country was affected by the massive earthquake in 2010. The packet I’m sharing here is a SMALL sampling of the numerous resources I’ve bookmarked and I anticipate that it will take the rest of this week to work through (with pauses for our normal Mercredi Musique routines & our obligatory grammar study). I will  use the other resources as a supplement if time permits. You can use it as you see fit – eliminate the grammar portion if need be and correct any language errors you might notice). You will also need to change the prompt for the Présentation Ecrite section, as it is personalized for the in-school experiences of my students. I also do not claim to know if the work I’ve asked the students to do is totally level appropriate for a 4/AP class; I mostly have no idea what I’m doing 🙂

I’ll share the rest when it’s finished!

 

One thought on “Le séisme en Haiti: A unit for French 4/5AP students

Leave a Reply

