#authres August: version française

WHOA – talk about long time, no blog! It has been an insanely busy summer to say the least. About a week and a half after school let out, I went to France to spend two weeks in Vichy at CAVILAM – Alliance Française on a scholarship from the French Embassy in Washington DC. I was lucky enough to be able to arrive a few days early in order to spend some time in Paris, and to stay a few days after the end of my “internship” to spend some time sampling the grape-based products of Bourgogne with a dear friend ;). After returning from France I had a quick weekend for some R&R before jumping into the county-wide curriculum development project I’ve been participating in for the last two years. We wrapped up our work on French 3 yesterday, which means I get one day to relax (and facilitate the last discussion for our #langbook study!) before getting my wisdom teeth out tomorrow. Thankfully that should be the last “big” event of my summer – I’m looking forward to having some down time to watch the Olympics and to finally get started on my planning for the fall. I don’t think I’m going to majorly overhaul any of my other classes but I am teaching a full section of AP French this year which will take up the rest of my attention for August!

Inspired by Maris’ #authres post, I thought I’d share some of my favorite authentic resources for my French classes. Since I ditched the textbook back in 2013, I’ve relied heavily on authentic resources in all of my classes – even for novices! I’m such an #authres fanatic, in fact, that it’s become kind of a joke among the members of my curriculum team – I have a weird knack for finding things that are useful at just the right time. (Insert monkey-covering-face emoji here).

Please note – I am 100% aware that my resources tend to lean heavily toward France and not so much toward the Francophone world. Unfortunately my knowledge of the Francophone world outside of l’Hexagone is severely lacking – please feel free to share any resources you may have from the DOM-TOM and Francophone Africa! Clearly, I need them!

Favorite general resources

  • http://www.1jour1actu.fr – This is my go-to when I’m looking for any kind of easy-to-understand video or article as it’s geared toward children.
  • @LeParisienInfog Twitter account for infographics on any subject
  • Forumdesados Online forum for teenagers
  • TV5Monde News and culture from around the Francophone world
  • L’Etudiant News and culture for a student audience
  • UTexas Français Interactif This is cheating as it’s not TECHNICALLY authentic in that it’s not made for a native speaker BUT I’ve found their interviews and videos really useful and my novice students appreciate how easily they can understand the speakers.

School Unit

Activities Unit

Travel Unit

Social Media Unit

Opportunities Abroad Unit

Impressionism Unit

There you have it – 50 resources to start your year!

6 thoughts on “#authres August: version française

  1. Thanks for your lists!
    Here are some Twitter accounts that you and your readers might find useful:
    @lactu, @petitquotidien, @monquotidien – these accounts aimed at young francophone speakers post #UneDemain with a visual and a short blurb about it – great conversation starter/warm-up, writing prompt, etc.
    @LepetitJT – videos for kids on variety of topics
    @LePtitLibe – creates thematic dossiers for young francophone speakers with language very accessible by FLE learners;
    @LeParisienInfog, @agenceIDE – infographics on current issues
    @UNESCO_fr, @OIFfrancophonie – tweets on world issues
    @ConteMoi – tales from various francophone regions of the world;
    @mjosfle has a blog where #authres are organized by theme https://ticsenfle.blogspot.com/;
    @Petit_Prof – a teacher in France posting her observations about teaching, students, profs, etc. She just cracks me up!
    Enjoy!

    Like

Leave a Reply

