What We’re Loving Right Now

Happy February!

Things continue to truck along here in my salle de classe. As I blogged earlier, this year has been challenging. That’s still true, but we’re trying to keep on keepin’ on. Scheduling cards went out last week and thankfully, many of my students plan to continue their studies in French. 20 out of 30 Level 2s want to move on to Level 3, and a whopping 30 out of 35 Level 4s want to continue on to AP. My one sticking point is the jump from Level 3 to Level 4 – only 15 out of 36 have signed up so far. I’m not sure what the disconnect is, unfortunately, but it looks like I should have a full schedule for next year, but I’m terrified that after a year of a regular AP class I’ll probably be back to teaching a split, but that’ll be a worry for a year from now.

On a more positive note, here’s what we’re loving right now.

1. Mercredi Musique continues to be a huge hit in most of my classes. I was absent on Wednesday last week and thought we’d just have to wait until the next Wednesday, but there was such a demand that we did Mercredi Musique on Thursday instead. My formula is pretty simple – we listen to a song by a French/Francophone artist and watch the music video (if there is one) and afterwards, the students discuss if they liked/disliked it and why at their tables. Then, we sing the chorus together.

2. Fizz Buzz is a super-easy brain break that my kids have a love-hate relationship with. I can’t remember where the original idea came from, unfortunately! We stand in a circle and count in the TL, basically, but the twist is that whenever you get to a number that has a five in it or is a multiple of five, you say fizz. If the number has a seven or is a multiple of seven, you say buzz. This causes just as many groans as it does laughs, and as a bonus, helps the kids remember their numbers in French as well.

3. The French Revolution is our current until in my Level 4/AP split. History is one of my huge passions – I can nerd out big time when it comes to discussing the French Revolution, the two World Wars, or the women’s rights movement. I really wanted to infuse more of my own passions into my classes and thought the French Revolution was a great place to start. There are so many parallels between French and American society in that particular time period it really makes for a great cultural comparison. Plus, the kids are already somewhat familiar with the Revolution from their history courses, so they’re enjoying seeing it now through the lens of a culture they’ve spent four years studying. It’s been a lot of fun!

Side Note: I would LOVE a TPRS Publishing book related to the French Revolution. How cool would that be?!

4. Schoology Discussion Boards have completely changed how I assess Interpersonal Writing – meaning, I actually assess it now. The Discussion Boards have been super awesome for controversial topics; for example, we most recently did a debate in Level 4 about whether or not the Declaration of Rights of Man and Citizen should be adopted as law by the Assemblée Constituante and the French monarchy. Each student belonged to a group that would have been represented during this time – the monarchy, the nobles, the clergy, the Tiers-Etat and women – and had to argue “their” viewpoint and respond to others’ posts. My class of 26 generated over ONE HUNDRED AND FIFTY posts in one 50-minute period! Some of them even started integrating hashtags in French and attached Revolution-related memes to their posts. The feedback I got was overwhelmingly positive so the Discussion Board will be sticking around!

Bonne continuation!

 

Leave a Reply

